need a larger plate… and stat

9 10 2009

Remember back when I used to post in here semi-regularly? Back in the day? It’s okay if you don’t really remember, to be honest, I barely do myself, but there was a time when I posted in my blog a lot.

That was before I had a job. Having a job does so much good for a person… for example as follows:

1. provides said person with money.
2. provides said person with a reason to shower regularly.

but also has some detrimental effects:

1. that person has less time to blog.

I’m going to TRY to rectify that, especially since I ended my internship this week, and I now have THREE days off a week. Of course, I also had today off, and I did nothing but polish off bag of Tim Tams, so we’ll see how well I stick to this plan. The internship ending was hard / difficult / devastating for me, because I LOVED it there, and now I know more than ever that I should be NEED to be working in publishing. I don’t know if you are late to this blog the party, but I spent the last three months interning at a literary agency in the city, and it was fantastic. (I apologize profusely for using the strikethrough joke not once, but TWICE in this paragraph… don’t mind me, I’ll be off in the corner killing myself.) So many people complain about their horrible internships, and I’m so glad I didn’t have that experience. Everyone at the agency was so helpful and knowledgeable, and I really feel as if I understand so much more about the business of book-making than I did prior. Also, after interning at the agency, I could definitely see myself being a literary agent, which was something I had never really entertaining seriously in the past. (I think I always assumed that I wouldn’t have the ability to see a book with potential if it slapped me in the face, but after reading many manuscripts and writing readers’ reports, I definitely feel as if I would be a good judge of the quality of a manuscript, and I think I was underestimating myself.) So I’m going to start seriously applying for jobs in literary agencies and publishing houses, and hopefully something good will eventually turn up. But until then, my number one priority is this blog.

Wait, that’s not entirely true. My number one priority is looking for a job, and my number two priority is catching up on television. Now, I’ve always been a person who watches maybe two or three shows a season, at the most, but my current roommate LOVES television, and so tv shows have become a bigger part of my life as of late.

So here is the TV show line up:

1. Gossip Girl: This show is effing fantastic, I don’t even care what you all say, it’s brilliant (except Joanna Garcia… I’m sorry, but I just watched you tutor rich girls in Florida for a year… it’s too soon). And for the record, that killer line last week? “The next time you forget that you are Blair Waldorf, just remember that I’m Chuck Bass, and I love you”? It’s RIDICULOUS how emotionally moved I was by that line. Seriously. It was like I was Edward, and the show was Bella, and that line was my own particular brand of heroin… and I think I’ve taken that one a bit too far… backing up now.

2. Glee: This show has been a craps shoot recently. Sometimes the episodes are fantastic: like this week… HELLO JANE LYNCH DIARY SCENE! And sometimes they are horrible: Like that acafellas disaster that made me want to put my foot in a blender. I’m sticking around, though. Emma Pillsbury wears the most adorable outfits. And she makes me want sweater clips.

3. Dollhouse: I honestly don’t even remember what happened last season. I feel like this show has the potential to be a lot better than it actually is, but maybe it’ll pull through and have a great second season. If not, I’ll probably drop it.

4. America’s Next Top (Short) Model: It’s pretty sad when you have to rely on a reality show by Tyra “did you see my horrible acting on Gossip Girl this week?” Banks to be the only constant in your life, but Top Model is that for me. It’s always entertaining. Every week. My favorite is Erin. So she’ll probably get second, but what else is new.

5. Greek: This whole season / chapter / whatever they call it has been weak as a free drink at ladies night, but they really stepped it up with this past week’s episode. I love the Cappie / Evan bromance.

6. Vampire Diaries: I was totally about to write this show off as lame, and no matter how great WitchBonnie is, I can’t stomach the pain for another episode, when at the end of last week, they show the little anti-vampire council having a little meeting. And I was intrigued. Just when I think I’m out…. they pull me back in! – to quote The Godfather, part III… or in my case, Veronica Mars.

7. Flash Forward: So fakeLost has been okay so far… not brilliant, but even Gossip Girl needed a couple of episodes to get started, so I’ll keep watching for a while.

Ahhh stupid tv. So much on my plate right now. Oh, and also, I want this dress.

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 10 2009
Juli

Welcome back!
I’d probably have more to comment on if I watched more t.v., but I don’t.
We’re having a party for New Moon–wish you were here =).

10 10 2009
Mom

You know I watch TV, but I haven’t seen any of those shows! I am enjoying the show Castle on ABC. Nathan Fillion is so great, funny!

12 10 2009
now i just need a sweater « it's more than just a season

[…] Book List ← need a larger plate… and stat […]

Leave a Reply

