getting the girl

22 08 2009

getting the girl cover

So I just finished the book Getting the Girl by Susan Juby, and I have a couple of things to say.

1. It should have been called Defiled.
2. The cover should have looked like this:

defiled cover

That’s all.

Edited because:
SUSAN JUBY COMMENTED!!! Awww, Susan Juby. I love you. I really liked Alice, I Think and I LOVED Getting the Girl! The problem that I have with the cover is that while it’s a fine cover, it looks like a Susane Colasanti book. Now I don’t have anything against Susane Colasanti, but in my opinion, I think Getting the Girl could have been a really great YA book for boys, and as it stands, the title and the cover make the book out to be a romantic comedy, which I think is misleading (as I feel it’s a comedy/mystery with some romance on the side). Basically, I think this is a book my brother would enjoy reading, but wouldn’t want to be seen holding in public. Which kinda sucks.

Also, I’ve been having fun remaking covers of the books I read, and I was particularly proud of this one so I decided to post it. 🙂

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 08 2009
Auntie Becca

Huh? on the bookcover.
Nice haircut.

23 08 2009
Susan Juby

Hi,

I don’t know how you meant this, exactly, (i.e. whether you liked the book or wanted to take it out back and use it for a ritual burning) but I think your cover is cool. I’m particularly taken with the font. And among the names considered, Defiled was a top contender.

23 08 2009
Juli

I can only assume the book is seriously creepy.

24 08 2009
Susan Juby

I’m going to have to look up this Colansanti person so I can feel properly dismayed. In the meantime, I think I know what you mean about this cover. It’s very cute and readers seem to like it but I was hoping for something a little edgier. It’s a great compliment that you took the time to do another version and a good one, at that! If it’s okay with you, I’m going to put your version up on my website.

25 08 2009
Summer

You can definitely put it on your website! I’m so honored, and I’m glad you liked it.

26 12 2009
amir

hello
i am amir khan
i am iranian i ,m very love the usa

Leave a Reply

