beda day #30: all good things come to an end

1 05 2009

Hello friends. It is the end of BEDA! I am so glad I signed up to participate in this. It was a challenge, but it was really fun and I really enjoyed meeting some new people as well as taking the time out of my schedule to write. It was fun and I’m sad to see it go. I’ll still update in here pretty often, hopefully around once a week? So don’t worry. And hopefully the quality of the posts will be better since I will have more time to work on them.

But the big news… is that my roommate and I were interviewed for an article on the School Library Journal website! Ridiculous, right? I can’t even begin to explain how bizarre this is. We made the Battle of the Books video for fun and as a way to spend our boring weekend, and it was appreciated by so many people! It’s incredible! Plus, I’ve come across some pretty awesome librarian blogs during the process. There are so many amazing people dedicated to children’s books and I am now certain that these are the types of people that I want to surround myself with in my life. Books and reading FTW!

As for the Battle of the Books… The Hunger Games beat Lincolns this week and is still going strong! Even though I love this book so much I don’t think I really expected it would get far, if only because I wanted it to SO BADLY. It’s so exciting! This is how most people must feel when they watch sports! Next week it goes up against Octavian Nothing 2, and although I STILL WANT THE HUNGER GAMES to win, I’m totally comfortable with either of them winning. I… still haven’t finished Octavian Nothing 1, but even though it’s definitely a slower read than Hunger Games’s stay-up-all-night addictiveness, I don’t think that it reflects poorly on the book. It’s just the kind of story that you put down and think about. It’s more effort but the payoff is worth it.

I think John Green (I know, I’m a fangirl, but he still said it well) put it best when he said that we underestimate teen readers if we assume that they cannot read a difficult book like Octavian Nothing (1&2) and enjoy it, but that we also underestimate those readers if we assume that they are not capable of reading an “easier” plot-driven book like The Hunger Games just as thoughtfully.

Exactly. They are both amazing books, just in different ways, and I’m excited to read Lois Lowry’s statement (she’s judging the final round) in either case.

The only other book that I was silently rooting for was Tender Morsels, even though I haven’t finished it. I started it in Barnes & Noble, and got maybe 150 pages in when I had to leave, and decided that I really didn’t have the money to buy it. But it was amazing. It reminded me of Jonathan Safran Foer’s novels, especially in Everything is Illuminated with the the stories about Trachimbrod (and it’s no secret that he is my favorite author of all time to anyone who knows me), but in a very different way. The world is painted SO well, and there are parts of the book that seem wonderfully dreamlike even at their darkest. Um, what am I trying to say here? This is the worst book review ever. I know this book gets noted as the “book with the sexual violence” but as it would be disturbing to young teens and others extremely uncomfortable with that type of violence and I wouldn’t recommend it to them, it honestly isn’t that graphic, and the worst parts are when you know what is going on without it being stated. It’s beautifully written, and I can’t wait to finish it. But it got knocked out of the battle two rounds ago. Sad.

I do have to admit that if it weren’t for the battle, I would never have read Tender Morsels. Which makes me a little sad. But the cover has a picture of a girl hugging a bear on it, which my roommate and I found so odd that we actually made fun of said cover in our video/song. And the title is Tender Morsels. Please tell me I’m not the only person who thinks that sounds disgusting. I’m guessing it does have a tie-in with the book, that I haven’t yet reached, but it’s still such an odd title. It sounds like the title of a dessert cookbook. I don’t know. It just doesn’t appeal to me at first glance. But I guess that’s why we have book bloggers, and book awards, and battles, and the like, so we can pick up books we would have otherwise passed? I guess I’ll do my part then. READ TENDER MORSELS!

Actions

Information

One response

6 05 2009
Pseudo

Hey Summer. Your mom sent the links and loved your video. Congrats on the win.

If you stop by my blog, give a vote for Auntie for the blogger’s choice awards. I’m in second place under dooce.

Also, my nephew’s girlfriend is an agent for writers in LA. She mentioned to my niece that a great job is as a reader for an agent… Have you checked that out?

Leave a Reply

