beda day #10: it’s friday and i’m tired

10 04 2009

so don’t hate if this blog sucks, kay?

While yesterday I discussed the brilliance that is Kiki Strike, today I wanted to talk about a book that I hated didn’t care for.

The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs

I dont know why this picture is so small, but whatever, the book sucked.

I don't know why this picture is so small, but whatever, the book sucked.

I really did not care for this book. I picked it up because it seemed really “mommy book club”-ish but in a good way, like The Secret Life of Bees or Divine Secrets of The Ya-Ya Sisterhood (the latter of which is one of my favorite books ever), but FNKC was just so boring. I cared about absolutely none of the characters, and just when I thought I was coming around to one, they would do something so pointless that was out of character in a sad attempt to advance the plot that I was just frustrated. I liked the knitting metaphor where each chapter was called “knit” or “purl” etc, based on whether the character was showing the world their pretty outside (knit) or whether they were showing the soft private underside (purl), but the plot seemed to go on tangent after tangent and I was just annoyed and bored at the same time.

And there are these times in the book that are either so contrived or so soppy where I found myself going, “REALLY? REALLY? IS THIS FOR REAL?!?!” and I feel like I shouldn’t be doing that outside of a Stephenie Meyer novel (where it fits and you love it). And the end was ridiculous. I can’t even… yeah.

On the up-side, I’m currently reading Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan and it is KICKING ASS! This book is blowing my mind. It is definitely for older teens as there is much that is disturbing and difficult to read, but I can tell that Lanagan is creating strong characters and a heartbreaking story as well. I’m excited to see where this one goes. The first sentence had the word “slut” in it, and I was like “Holy crap, Toto, we ain’t in J-FIC anymore!”

p.s. The roommate and I are working on something that is blow-your-mind amazing, and I will show you all if/when we finish it. Get pumped.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 04 2009
murtle

cant wait to see what you two are working on! finish it! oh, and since youre reading tender morsels did you guys finish all the others from the awards thing?

15 04 2009
Rachel

Tender Morsels drool…

I wish I was reading it for the first time again.

Leave a Reply

