beda day #1: look at me, keeping my word

1 04 2009

So today is the first day (and only a couple hours in, huzzah!) of Blog Every Day April, something that YA author Maureen Johnson came up with as a way for her to count down the days until her most recent book Suite Scarlett comes out in paperback. Fortunately, Maureen decided to twitter about this new idea, and voila! BEDA was born!
(Speaking of Twitter, WordPress created a new widget for adding our Tweets to the sidebar… so there it is, over there on the right underneath my recent posts. Or you could just follow me on twitter!)

Maureen dictates the rules of BEDA to be as such:

from Maureen’s blog:
THE RULES OF BLOG EVERY DAY APRIL (BEDA)

1. Blog every day in April.

THE BLOG EVERY DAY IN APRIL MANIFESTO

I commit to this idea and am determined to create something EVERY DAY in April, including weekends. Every day, I will find something to say. I embrace the reality that there is always something to talk about, if you are willing to take the time to look for it.

I ______________ promise to blog every day in April.

SOME QUESTIONS I HAVE SEEN, SOME I MADE UP, WITH ANSWERS

Q. What’s the point of blogging every day in April?

There’s always value to signing on to a project and seeing it through. But I think blogging every day in April has many potential benefits. If you want to be a writer, for example, this is a great idea . . . because you have to get used to the practice of writing every day, whether you think you can or not.

And I think April’s a good month for it. April is often a busy, crazy, transitional month. It’s when taxes are due (in America). It’s when school is just reaching its peak and people are just seeing the summer ahead. It’s when rain comes and flowers grow, and there’s candy, and it’s also only 30 days long! BONUS!

Q. Are there punishments if you mess up and don’t blog for a day?

I am not one for setting up punishments, because I believe that the punishments will administer themselves. At least in my case. If I mess up a day, LOTS OF PEOPLE WILL LET ME KNOW, and I will feel the tweak of failure. You can set up any punishment you like, if punishments help you! But I am a great believer in getting up again and trying the next day.

May I also suggest setting up ENCOURAGEMENTS? Here are a few ideas.

– Why not blog with a friend, or make a NEW FRIEND and read each other’s blogs every day?

– Why not promise yourself a small prize of some kind? A book, for example? (I could suggest a Suite Scarlett paperback, because the timing is excellent . . . but you see the idea here. Some small token of accomplishment.)

I decided to attempt BEDA because I cannot even so much as start NaNoWriMo[see below], and also, I’m unemployed and bored.

I realize this is a bit of a lame starting blog, but I figured I needed to explain the concept first. Plus, it’s April Fools Day and I am absolutely horrible at jokes and pulling shit like that, and so therefore will not be writing anything relating to the day.

[Regarding NaNoWriMo] Seriously. I signed up and everything, and when they sent me that first e-mail, I was like… “meh.” Maybe I have a mental block. Or just a personal goal to be completely unproductive in the month of November. Who really knows.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 04 2009
Alicia

I too am unemployed and bored. Bring on the BEDA, eh? haha. Good luck!

1 04 2009
Jackie

hey, i orignally saw VEDA, but I like the idea of BEDA better so im gonna try!
I also have twitter so im off to follow you! (and maureen, didnt know she had one but ive read all of her books but one! and they’re awesome!)

3 04 2009
Korianne

Yay for being bored and unemployed! Good luck this month! Thanks for commenting on my blog yesterday. I am now following you on twitter! So happy to have made a new buddy already with just 2 days in!

Leave a Reply

