like watching dollhouse, we all sit around and wait for it to get good

11 03 2009

So I paid my very first internet bill today! I’d feel more excited about it if I actually had some sort of income to help pay for this, but I don’t, and so it makes me nothing but gross.

Since I’m unemployed, I spend my days doing the strangest things. For example, last Thursday, I woke up at 4.30 am, jumped on the Path, and subway’d up to Grand Central to stand in line in front of B&N for the Miley Cyrus book signing at 6.30 am. (In retrospect, I have since found that some people were waiting outside that B&N at like 2 am, or even at 7 pm the night before, so the fact that I didn’t go until 6.30 makes me feel a little bit better about myself). I received a pretty PINK wristband, and a copy of Miles to Go (which I honestly bought just so I could “meet” Miley Cyrus and not for it’s literary value, but of what I’ve read so far, it’s pretty good!). Then my friend and I went to go eat breakfast at Cosi before she had to leave for work.

At 4pm, we both headed over there, and were assured we would get our books signed for SURE because we had pink wristbands, which meant we were in the first 500.

(Ugh this all sounds so boring, but I can’t think of any way to spice it up, unfortunately.)

When we finally got inside B&N, they were playing BREAKOUT (YES!) along with The Climb (which btw, is slowly changing my life for the better, I’m sure), and my friend and I got to see a lot of girls cry. That part was a little disturbing. I hadn’t brought my camera with me, because when I went to the signing of Nicole Richie’s The Truth About Diamonds (ahahahaha and just like that all my credibility is gone) I was so stressed about getting a good picture with her that I kept going to the bathroom to check my hair and kept going through (with my other friend) how we were going to both get pictures with her and get our books signed, and I got so flustered when it really happened that I barely looked at Nicole when she was in front of me and ended up with a picture of me looking like a freak and the top of Nicole’s head. Nice.

But I really SHOULD have brought my camera this time because Miley was actually POSING for pictures and TRISH (that’s Miley’s mother) was taking the pictures. Ah well. It was still great to be in her presence, and she was so nice and didn’t seem like she wanted to die by the time we were at the table, even though she had already signed like 400 books.

IN YOUR FACE, PEOPLE WHO WERE IN LINE AT 2AM!

IN YOUR FACE, PEOPLE WHO WERE IN LINE AT 2AM!

So I got to MEET MILEY CYRUS (please, someone get that) and get her book signed, and I only waited in line for about 2 hours combined. And it was hilarious because there were these girls behind us when we went back at 4 for the signing who were like “WHAT TIME WERE YOU HERE THIS MORNING?” and when we said 6.30, she was like “I WAS HERE AT 2AM!” and it took everything I am to not say “…and now you’re behind us! Looks like a waste of time to me!” Which I didn’t say but totally should have because this girl was seriously nuts.

In other news, I saw the Jonas Brothers 3D concert movie, which was GREAT, and had the fun by-product of me becoming obsessed with Taylor Swift. We all know I LOVE country-pop, and she’s perfect at it! I don’t know why I was so anti-her at first. Maybe because she kept showing up on the Radio Disney billboards next to Miley and the Jonas Brothers, and in my head I was like “WHO IS THAT FREAK, SHE CAN’T BE AS GREAT AS MILEY!” and just ignored her existence. But she’s pretty great and I love how vocal she was about Joe Jonas dumping her on the phone. So basically I need to be dumped by Kevin (the OTHER Jonas Brother) so that I can hang with the other Jonas cast-offs: Miley and Taylor. So great. So THAT’S why Miley called Taylor her best friend at the Grammy’s.

WOW I TOTALLY FORGOT ABOUT ONE MORE THING:
So on Saturday my roommate and I were walking to Macy’s from the path station at 33rd street, and we pass a Lady Foot Locker. This is normal, right, but this Lady Foot Locker had a giant photo of Leighton Meester. Okay… odd person to promote SNEAKERS, but okay. And then “MEET LEIGHTON MEESTER, SATURDAY MARCH 7th” (Um WHAT?!?!)

So we go inside and ask “was Leighton Meester really here today?” and they say “yeah” and we go “DOING WHAT?” because I can barely picture Leighton Meester in jeans, let alone in a Lady Foot Locker.

But apparently she was because I found this picture.*

Miss Blair would not approve

Miss Blair would not approve

So apparently she was signing autographs (I HOPE ON PEOPLE’S SHOES) and I missed it. Although if I went I would TOTALLY have her sign a headband. And record my outgoing voicemail message.

*Actually, forget Reebok, I can’t believe she’s drinking Poland Spring.

Actions

Information

One response

2 04 2009
Jackie

hahah so saw dollhouse in the title and had to click!
awesome about the miley thing and the leighton thing, damn! no one famous really comes here, well a few concerts since its a college town, but pretty much famous-people free 😦

Leave a Reply

