regarding lauren conrad’s book deal

16 09 2008

Sarah Dessen wrote about it.
John Green wrote about it.

I’ve been waiting to see if Maureen Johnson writes about it, but lately she’s been very involved in writing about Bristol Palin.

So Lauren Conrad has a three book deal with HarperCollins. It’s going to be called L.A. Candy. I’m pretty sure the marketing and editorial team at HarperCollins does not read my blog, but please. Change the title. It sounds like a cheap make-up brand you’d buy at CVS.

So I assume people want to know how I feel about this. This took a very long time to wrap my head around, but I’ll try to explain myself as clearly as possible.

1. I Like The Hills
Now one of the things that I really hate about TV shows like The Hills is that I (as an educated person who is not 13 and/or a conniving, social climbing follower) am not allowed to like this show. We act as if we live in this Free Country where everyone has choices, but I’m not allowed to like this show unless it’s my “guilty pleasure.” That pisses me off a little bit. As if I’ve committed some sort of crime. I haven’t. And more than that… it IS possible for a person who watches The Hills to ALSO love to… omg… wait for it… READ. “I watch The Hills” is not synonymous with “I am an idiot who is basically illiterate.” Lauren Conrad seems like a nice person who is pretty intelligent (remember, she’s not the one dating Spencer Pratt). There is a possibility that these books could be interesting. Just because they are by Lauren Conrad doesn’t equal TRASH.

2. I Appreciate Excellent Marketing
I do. I really do. There’s a reason I find the Disney Channel so fascinating. The other day I saw GODIVA BREAKING DAWN DARK CHOCOLATE (can you handle the temptation?) in Barnes & Noble. I almost flat-out fainted with the brilliance of it. I LOVE chocolate! I BOUGHT Breaking Dawn! Perfect! Five stars for you, Little, Brown! These books are probably just more marketing of the Lauren Conrad product. I’m okay with that.

3. I Am Annoyed That It Was So Easy For Lauren To Get This Deal Because Of Who She Is
This happens all the time, mostly in music. You guys… CARLY PATTERSON (in case you have already forgotten who she was, she won the Individual Gymnastics Gold All Around in Athens. Basically, she was the Nastia Liukin of four years ago.) has an album. Now I get annoyed because it was TOO easy for them, but at LEAST they wanted to sing! At least this was a dream of theirs (however stupid of a dream… Sasha Cohen is ACTING, now, for heaven’s sake). Was this even a dream of Lauren’s? Maybe it was. If it was, than this is just as annoying as Leighton Meester working on an album and not more so.
If it wasn’t, than this is just MTV or HarperCollins trying to milk her brand, but doing it in a different way. I’m a little honored that they thought they could do it through a book series (are books the new fragrances?), but I don’t really know if they can. I don’t really know that this will sell well (and this is coming from someone who owns Nicole Richie’s “reality-fiction” The Truth About Diamonds). It is a little disheartening to people who really want to write and dream of writing, but I’m sure Scarlett Johansson’s (or Zooey Deschanel’s for that matter) record deal was depressing to struggling musicians. And Zooey Deschanel’s album turned out to be FANTASTIC. So you never know.

I like the attitude of Sarah Dessen’s post, and for the most part, think that John Green is trying to judge a book he has never read. I understand what he is saying, but I think that he assumes that there is no possible way this book could be redeeming in any way, simply because it is by Lauren Conrad and she is evil personified. That I don’t agree with.

To really judge the book, we’ll have to wait until the book comes out.

Actions

Information

One response

6 10 2008
Kristan

Hey there,

I’m a reader of Pseudonymous High School Teacher (phhhst.blogspot.com), which I can never spell to save my life, and anyway, she thought I might enjoy your blog since we have some stuff in common. We’re both halfies, I write, you read, we’re both in our early 20s, etc. 🙂

Anyway, just wanted to say hi, and that I totally feel you on the hating (but maybe not?) Lauren Conrad for her easy book deal. I’m busting my butt (most days) trying to finish my novel and get it published, so it always kind of rams me right in the gut when I see people having my dreams handed to them on a platter. Le sigh.

Kristan

Leave a Reply

